Posted in Commentary

“46 and I just don’t care”

Turned 46 two weeks ago. That isn’t a terribly momentous notion, but it felt like a sudden funk came on. After a combining the Super Bowl with dinner with the folks (I’m all about efficiency) and a tension laden celebre at work (my colonoscopy was more fun and had better drugs), I had some laughs with my lovely children and their lovely mom which is how I guess it should. After briefly sitting shiva for my disippating youth, I got to back to work addressing the bigger questions:

like why couldn’t Jon and Kate plus imitate the American Chopper family and quit the show to fix the family?

Conversely, remember when TLC was more that just dysfunctional families yelling at each other? (my new personal favorite is the Cake Boss crew).

Why is the governor thinking of closing all the state parks (i.e. the one sure moneymaker he has)?

Why is Tiger Woods apologizing to me on many networks when he really should be working on that with his family?

Can the Today show be more difficult to watch than it has been during the Winter Olympics? The games are a lot of fun, but NBC can make a person crazy with how they want to maximize their prime time dollars as well as integrate Matt, Meredith, Al and Ann into the athlete’s village. Sure, the canadian networks are homers, but they know how to cover sport. NBC’s hockey coverage can be a little uncomfortable so when I plan to sit down to Canada vs. the US tomorrow, I’ll be watching via CTV to best see the game restricting promos for what for what I’ll see later.

Can the snow leave after the powder keg festival/pond hockey next weekend? I’m ready for spring.

A work benefit yielded a six pack of irish red ale from Dundee, two of which accompanied dinner last night, which was followed rather quickly by the most pleasant nap.

Have a nice weekend

Leave a Reply

