Black Friday

When Steely Dan released that song many moons ago, I don’t think they were referring to the 8pm opening of Kohl’s on Thursday, Target’s 4AM start or Walmart’s midnight sale.

Does the success of your holiday hinge on getting a good place in line outside Best Buy in the middle of the night? Notice, I said holiday, singular, as it is one day.

Now, dear reader, lest you think I’m some kind of scrooge, let me assure I’m not. It’s all good fun. I remember being up for quite a few showings of “A Christmas Story” on TBS as my wife and I assembled and wrapped the offerings for our three lovelies for Christmas morning. I’m pretty sure there is photographic evidence as to how healthy that was.

I guess I await the inevitable, the poor bastard who gets trampled in the doorway at Walmart trying to get a deep discounted HD television set. It tempers things a little.

I used to get a little frustrated with my own limitations financial wise when it came to the kids, but they’ve thankfully grown up with healthy perspectives in regards to the holiday.

I suppose the mania of early openings has good intentions. Being the skilled marketer that I am (yeah, right), I’d have my store run regular hours and let folks get the deals at civilized hours like 10:30.

I suppose that explains that come friday morning, I’ll be sleeping in.

Leave a Reply

