Sabres Dork

I caught it early, when the Sabres were first in existence, clipping rosters and have always been a Sabres fan. My dad took me to see the Sabres play the California Golden Seals in 73 and I was a goner. One of the coolest things I did during a college internship was to head down to hold the microphone for post game interviews the night Scotty Bowman let Jim Schoenfeld go. Proud that I could tell the broadcast pros something was up and the morning revealed me to be right.  The only difference now is that you feel a little funny buying the jersey of a player you are now older than. But it doesn’t take much to bring out your inner 10 year old.  A nice set of circumstances brought my fun day job and my fun night job together as both places are coming together for a good cause, but that became secondary as the community relations folks gave a quick tour. Now some of the images might be a little familiar, but it’s my blog so step off. I had fun.

 

Lindy Ruff‘s vantage point for the game on the Sabres’ bench. I could almost imagine myself yelling at a fictional Derek Roy.

Quite the chandelier

The logo and no, I didn’t touch it. Although, those two columns on the side make it look like a shout of “energize!” and you’d be beamed to Rochester (or the press box for the night)

I love the reminder on the board,”everybody got your permission slips, find your travel buddy, Ottawa, right after Boston.”

Jochen Hecht’s stuff awaits, everybody else’s was in Boston.

What the entrance to the ice looks like for the visitors.

Fun little peek behind the scenes. I’ve always been fascinated by what goes into putting “on the show.” It’s the little things, like learning that Tyler Myers’ stick is taller than me

Fun,

3 Replies to “Sabres Dork”

  1. Nice pics. Do you remember the white skates that the Golden Seals wore? That’s when the Sabres had a real team. I’m still waiting for a return to those days. Maybe their 4th owner will do it.

Leave a Reply

