Posted in Buffalo, NY, Commentary, Current events

Let’s Be Careful Out There!

So, Election Day for school board in the city falls tomorrow. It doesn’t draw very well, but like a Pirates fan in April, full of fresh season optimism, I’ll get to the voting locale on the way into work. If nothing else, my junk mail will take a turn for the positive for a bit. Whoever wins, actually work for the betterment of the system. The kids deserve that, no?

So, another joy of Spring is to see the Hatch at Erie Basin Marina….under construction? All kinds of great things are planned. Who doesn’t love a patio, bigger this, more that, etc. Buffalo Rising has all the essentials and there is the predictable debate about the price tag. Hey, it’s an election year, but the one question I had was couldn’t more of it have been started last fall so we could be enjoying more of it, um, now?

Glad for the effort, nonetheless.

Watched the Toronto Maple Leafs play a home playoff game for the first time in ages. I think by beating the Bruins in the last match up, they made ’em mad. I kind of like that too.

On the other hand, the Toronto Blue Jays are a hot mess, a bad team made up of good players. I think I know what the problem might be. I’ve been longing for them to be interesting once again, so much so, that I went and bought a cap, the alternative with the red maple leaf on it. It’s like the cap sensed that I’ve followed the Mets, rendering this year’s Jays into a Mets’-like squad, only more polite.

The constant of the baseball schedule allows you to drop in and out, doing a bit of standup comedy on twitter about all the writers who predicted that the Red Sox and Yankees would stink it up this year and the Jays would be invincible. Must have been the musings of NFL Draft gurus, guys who thought the Bills would blow their first choice on Ryan Nassib.

I like EJ. I don’t know if any of this means anything, but it sure isn’t dull that way anymore.

In the meantime, I got to get to Bisons game before they exhaust themselves.

Let’s go get at it, Tuesday, but hey! Let’s be careful out there.

Leave a Reply

